Areas I would like to Improve

In early tests I tried to create a modular brick wall for the side of my building which didnt match with the rest of the scene and proved a dead end. I took on a different approach to previous methods and instead of sculpting on a general brick stamp to a flat surface I chose to build up the wall from a series of bricks and sculpt in-between. Including the retopologising (which reproduced harsh shadows at the seams between brick sections) it was about 2-3 days of work that wasn’t included in the end result. In the future I will likely do my sculpt onto a flat plane and then make any deformations or modularity in Maya.


Due to time restraints I am unhappy with the rubble section that connects my scene to the small stand it is placed on. It is far too low poly and doesnt have any interesting geometry detail. This is something I will need to improve before I include it in any future portfolio work. Similarly my wall edges are too well rounded and have an unrealistic bend to them.

I would also have liked to spend more time baking to get mohighresscreenshot00020re precise shadows but the only possible solution was to reduce the overall world scale to get more sample and that just quadruples your baking time. I messed around with smoothness but that also put a heavy burden on the rendering time.

Leave a comment