Lighting

 

 

highresscreenshot00002

Lighting development started from the Neon emissive lights and then worked outwards. The neon/halogen lighting in the scene is a distinct part of the style and ensuring they were lighting the surrounding area correctly first was important to my own way of breaking things down. In order to best show them off this also meant I would need to be creating a night time scene. After the main lights were established I then used a series of emissive cards to fill the street with blue light to contrast the orange/red in the Voodoo Ray’s sign and lit the back of the building with a low angled orange light to simulate sunset.

highresscreenshot00015

For some unknown reason I was getting change in lighting along the edges of my entrance. My suspicion is that the emissive light from the Neon sign was passing through the object and giving it a red glow. As there was no consistency to this error I was forced to put a frame dividing the sections to cover the contrast. This is still in keeping with the reference however as there is an additional section where the metal shutters come down that I had removed during the development for the sake of time.

HighresScreenshot00019.png

Leave a comment