Art Direction

 

During the idea stages I presented my tutor Simon with 3 ideas for the project. A surfboard shack, a fantasy temple and the Voodoo Ray’s restaraunt/takeaway.  My overall focus with the ideas this time around was to choose environments with a good opportunity for materials/texturing and to stay away from the mistake of the previous project and choosing a scene with more manageable detail. I was glad to have Simon’s support for the Voodoo Rays idea as it was my favourite of the three. Voodoo Ray’s offered a mixture of old to new materials, interesting colour choices due to the neon lights and had an architectural element which I wanted to have in my portfolio for future applications to jobs in the Arch-Viz industry. An additional advantage to choosing Voodoo Ray’s was the wealth of resource material as I could go on site and take tonnes of photos.  It made the project so much easier than doggedly googling badly lit, low-res photos of japanese grocery store products (…..my last project) I made a point of going out 3 times to take as many photos as possible. The staff were very nice about letting me take photos once I bought some pizza. Without these photos I wouldnt have been able to get as good an end result. I can certainly say I would not have created as interesting a diffuse material for the sidewalk.  After the initial discussions I set about making a blockout to get an idea what I wanted the final version to be like.

blockout

 

 

Leave a comment